November 18, 2011

Three poems  on the nature of love and loss…

Three Poems on love and loss, by Sara Teasdale & Elizabeth Barrett Browning
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

“I Am Not Yours” by Sara Teasdale
“My Heart and I” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning
“What Do I Care?” by Sara Teasdale

These poems each have something slightly different to say about love, loss and the anticipation of loss. Teasdale starts us out with “I Am Not Yours,” speaking to that desire to be completely swept away, to be lost in another, when we are not yet.

Browning has loved and lost and in “My Heart and I” speaks to the cost of that love, how tired we grow of the weight of that loss.

And Teasdale sees us off with the attempt to separate ourselves from that emotional cost, that (as she perceives it) inevitable loss.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

