December 16, 2011

Afraid it’s paranoia, obsession and grief all around this week…

Home Burial, by Robert Frost
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Originally, I had something amusing and fluffy planned for today – a listing from the wonderful (yet often offensive) archives of the “Best of Craigslist.” Sadly, all those pieces are under copyright. So…

So why not Frost? Robert Frost was my first poet love, although I confess that I actually have read very little of his work. I only realized this when looking for something appropriate for today’s offering. And when I came across Home Burial, it spoke so strongly to me that I knew it was the right choice.

Home Burial speaks, not to the horror of losing a child, but to that particular horror of trying to live within the marriage that survives it. The anger, the helplessness, the division. It is brutal and painful and honest.

Link to poem: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/238120

The Bells, by Edgar Allen Poe
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

Edgar Allen Poe poems are so much better read-aloud than silent-read, and I am sure this was by his design. “The Bells” is so strongly rhythmic, onomatopoeic, rhyme-laden — all the luscious stuff of poetry and, typical of Poe, also tinged with a sort of suppressed madness.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

