Winter Holiday Edition!

Why yes, Virginia, there IS a Going Public piece just for you…

The Pickwick Papers (extract – Ch 28), by Charles Dickens
Read by Simon Vance

Simon writes…

Merry Christmas from me and mine to you and yours!

Ode to the West Wind, by Percy Bysse Shelley
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

An allegory for his role of poet-revolutionary, Percy Bysshe Shelley’s “Ode to the West Wind” expresses his hope that his words, powered by the wind, will change the world.
Lines etched in memory:
“I fall upon the thorns of life. I bleed!”
and my favorite,
“If winter comes, can spring be far behind?”

Yes Virginia, there IS a Santa Claus!
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

(from Newseum) Eight-year-old Virginia O’Hanlon wrote a letter to the editor of New York’s Sun, and the quick response was printed as an unsigned editorial Sept. 21, 1897 (written by Francis Pharcellus Church).

Link to article: http://www.newseum.org/yesvirginia/

I confess that until this year, I had no idea this was anything but a movie title. What I love most about this response is that it seeks to answer the larger question – is this a world in which “Santa Claus” should not exist? And I find I agree with Church’s conclusion.

Enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

