February 17, 2012

So now we move on to the more sensual side of love, leaving the torment behind us…

Poesia, by Pablo Neruda
Read by Cassandra Neace

From Cassandra’s post at Indie Reader Houston:

When Xe told me she had chosen one of Pablo Neruda’s early poems for this week’s installment, I got really excited. I love Neruda. He is, in fact, the reason that I learned to speak Spanish. I’ve recorded some of his stuff before for private use, and I thought I would give it a try again. The poem I chose is actually the one that made me fall in love with Neruda. It’s not one of his love poems, either. It’s about the moment when he knew he had to be a poet, and it’s called, simply, “Poetry.” It appears on the screen after the final scene in the movie Il Postino, the first stanza anyway. I was hooked.

I’ve recorded the poem in both English and Spanish. My Spanish is a little rusty, but I think I did pretty well. I hope that you enjoy.

Si Tu Me Olvidas / If You Forget Me, by Pablo Neruda
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

The great beauty of Twitter is discovery of that which you might never have noticed/found/read. Earlier this week, as part of the meme, #TodaysPoem, someone tweeted a snippet from Chilean poet Pablo Neruda’s “Si Tu Me Olvidas/If You Forget Me,” and I simply had to stop whatever I was doing and find more of his work.

If you haven’t read any Neruda, go. Do it right now. Don’t even bother listening to this piece first. It is so lyrical, raw, beautiful. Love isn’t the right word for how I feel about his work – I *need* it, like I need Dunn or Pastan. I *need* Neruda now.

But it isn’t just the words, it’s the flow of the language, which I confess that until I read this poem in Spanish, I had never found Spanish to be. But the sensuality in the rhythm, in the way the words fit together in Spanish is exquisite. I knew immediately that I couldn’t simply read this in English, but had to read it as it was written. Time to brush off those 7 years of Spanish from another lifetime…

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

