March 30, 2012

Oh my…two volatile, fiery writers!

Magdalen Walks, by
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

A walk through the grounds of Magdalen College, Oxford, in the spring, with Oscar Wilde.

The Burned Letter, by Aleksandr Pushkin
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Earlier this week, as a distraction, I asked the Twitterverse to challenge me with poets – and I would then find and tweet one of their poems. Several folks joined in the fun and I made some nifty poet discoveries (the beauty of Twitter, my friends!). One of those discoveries was Russian poet extraordinaire, Aleksandr Pushkin.

Now here’s the rub: I detest rhyming poetry. It’s a flaw in my character, I know…but there you go. And as most of his poetry rhymes quite beautifully, this made choosing one of his a challenge. But this particular poem is more like the poet talking (raving?) to himself…and only one rhyme really slips in noticed. I decided to be the bigger person and go with it.

Enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

