April 27, 2012

Looking at the fragility of life this week…

How Old, by Diane Havens
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

Last year, we lost my mother-in-law to Alzheimer’s disease, but we’d really lost her for years before, and now, my parents are beginning to fade, very different from who they once were. So it’s a particularly resonant subject for me. It truly is the long goodbye.

I wrote this poem after my husband, son and I visited her just weeks before she passed away.

Where the Car Turns at 18th, by Edna Ferber
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Finally – a long piece again!Although published in1912, these poignant little stories have a timeless feel to them. Oh sure, the language is a bit dated, but the themes aren’t.This one, which is a re-recording of one I did years ago, speaks directly to the devastating effects to the spirit that can come of the romanticization of war and military service. “Where the Car Turns at Eighteenth” has stuck with me all these years with it’s portrait of the destruction of innocence and what happens when the spirit simply cannot be repaired.

I included the Foreword to the entire collection, as in it, Ferber tries to set the mood for these pieces.

Please note: this is in no way meant to offend those who so generously give in the service of our country, nor to malign all recruiters.


Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

