August 24, 2012

About time to lighten the mood, courtesy of a feline friend…and nicely rounded out with the continuing saga of Tom Jones.

 

Excerpts from a Cat’s Diary (author unknown)
Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

This is one of those quirky pieces that I’ve recorded for my wonderful husband as part of an ongoing gift. I’m blatantly stealing this for Going Public this week – don’t judge me!

Er, where was I? Heh. All work and no…well, you know the old nursery rhyme.

This piece is pure frivolity, but I’ve definitely met cats that fit this bit of humor. And not a day goes by that I don’t wonder if my cat isn’t trying to kill me by twining himself around my feet in his effort to speed up the feeding process. Maybe he figures that if he trips me, I’ll drop the food and it will be instant feast-time for him.

Who knows? They are cats, after all.

.

Tom Jones – Book 1, Chapter 5, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This is a short little chapter, in which Miss Bridget shows some tenderness to the infant after Mr. Allworthy has left her presence, out of respect for Allworthy’s wish that the child be well cared-for. The Narrator then goes on to make an observation, which boils down to this: if you ask someone for a favor, the more they piss and moan about doing it, the bigger the favor it must be, and therefore the more you owe them for it. It goes without saying that this is terrible advice, but the Narrator treats it as if it’s pure gold. I guess “experts” doling out terrible advice dates back at least as far as the 18th Century.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

