September 28, 2012

A bit of nonsense, a bit of that which truly isn’t…and rounding it all up –  Tom Jones.

The Owl and the Pussycat, by Edward Lear 
Read by Diane Havens


Diane writes…

After a few weeks of working on soooo serious stuff, I thought I’d pull some nonsense out of my repertoire.

Edward Lear is one of my favorite authors of children’s classic poetry. I’ve cast the owl as an Elvis type crooner charmer and the Pussycat a breathy ingenue. Naturally.

Don’t Lie, by Len Kuntz, from Little (flash) Fiction, published by Little Fiction.

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Copyright 2012 Len Kuntz
Published 2012 by Little Fiction

Recorded with permission from author and publisher

WARNING: CONTAINS MEMORY OF ASSAULT

Continuing this week with the second story from the excellent flash fiction collection from Little Fiction – this time with a story that hurts and leaves itself behind long after you’ve read it.

I need to let this one unfold for you, yet that is hard…because I remember exactly how I felt when it hit me and it seems I should save you from that, soften that blow a little. But then, what’s the point of reading evocative stories if not to be caught, squeezed, forced to look into the face of it?

.
Tom Jones – Book 1, Chapter 10, by Henry FieldingRead by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Chapter 10 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

Well, now that Jenny’s out of the picture, it’s time to introduce two new characters: a doctor and a captain. When writing these two characters, Fielding devised one of, in my humble opinion, his greatest creations: the name of Blifil. It’s both fun to say and faintly ridiculous. There will be a lot more use of the name Blifil to come.

Also interesting is that the Narrator here says that he can’t peer into the minds of his characters and discern their true motives. It’s a bit of a puzzler, considering he’s supposedly omniscient, not to mention that he could discern what was in Jenny’s heart of hearts last chapter. I think he’s just having fun with us.

We also get the return of the word “eleemosenary” from chapter 1. It means “charitable” or “relating to charity.”

A note on the audio quality this week: I had a mic placement issue in the first portion of the recording, which was fixed in the latter half. I didn’t catch it until it came time to upload it, and, these chapters serving as a type of time capsule, it wouldn’t seem right to re-record this chapter.

.
Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

