A Very Going Public Halloween!

Hello my little monsters…just bubbling up a couple of new treats and re-animating a host of others for you this Halloween, with the help of Poe, Shakespeare, Ambrose Bierce, 6’minute storyFicly.com, Charlotte Perkins Gilman and of course…Lovecraft.

Let’s start off with a bit of Poe…after all, what’s a little inquisitorial torture among friends?

NEW TREAT!

The Pit and the Pendulum, by Edgar Allan Poe

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Having read The Tell-Tale Heart and tackled The Raven for Halloween 2011 (see below), I was wracking my Poe-addled brain for another short story that didn’t feature a narrator as a very obviously love-lorn dude. Tall order with Poe. Not that I can’t pretend to be a very obviously love-lorn dude (especially after a week spent voicing sexy demons and shapeshifters) but still…

Pit and the Pendulum always struck me as too long for this purpose, but it kept calling to me, and I felt the recording of it like an inevitability, like the pendulum itself, swinging ever downward in wider and wider arcs. But unlike Poe’s narrator, I had no rats to save me.

NEW TREAT!

Macbeth’s Nightmare, by William Shakespeare
Read by Diane Havens, Ian Havens and Robert Jadah


Diane writes…

For Halloween, we decided not to dress up ourselves but to dress up an old play, “Macbeth” — scary enough as is. How to riff on the horror? We imagined what Macbeth would dream, he who has “murdered sleep.” So we set out to create this music/spoken word track to share.

My son likes dubstep music and is experimenting with composing in that style — he is also currently studying Shakespeare’s “Macbeth” in his high school English class. A while ago, my Canadian actor friend Robert Jadah and I collaborated on a free use education project for literature educators, and Ian and I took clips from that podcast series to create something unique using Ian’s original music as the base. A dubstep mashup of Macbeth lines. Monster, eh?

We called it “Macbeth’s Nightmare” and Ian remarked that it would be even better as a track for nightmarish video. This, after all, is what public domain freedom of use is all about. I hope someone so inclined and gifted who likes it will find it and animate it and pass it on … and give credit where credit is due.

Thanks, yet again, dear William Shakespeare for hundreds of years of inspiration.

RE-ANIMATED!

Dagon, by H.P. Lovecraft
Read by Oliver Wyman

(click here for SoundCloud link if you cannot see the player above)

Oliver writes…

One of H.P. Lovecraft’s earlier short stories, Dagon tells the tale of one man’s descent into madness at having witnessed the unfathomable horror that lay hidden beneath the ocean depths. For Going Public.

 

RE-ANIMATED!

The Raven, by Edgar Allen Poe
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

This ain’t your Vincent Price raven, my friends – no! For those who have not heard my rather feverish rant about rhyming poetry, suffice it to say that I have an aversion to rhyming that rivals a child’s aversion to broccoli. And yet…and yet, in discussing this poem with my daughter and disagreeing with the traditional reading of it, I realized that there is a whole different way to approach The Raven – as a STORY.

For that’s really what it is, isn’t it? A sad unfortunate soul, plagued by anguish over a lost love (child, lover, wife, sister or…), after suffering additional torment at the “beak” of a “prophet, thing of evil,” tells her or his story to us. S/he is a storyteller, not an orator.

So here, for your amusement on this lovely holiday, I present my interpretation of The Raven. Of course, some rhyming would be foolish to avoid, so fear not you lovers of the rhyme – there is still enough here to tickle your feathered fancy.

RE-ANIMATED!

Zombie Apocalypse, in 3 Acts, from Ficly.com

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Featuring microfiction from Pete, Wilson A., and wilw (Wil Wheaton)
WARNING: LANGUAGE

All pieces from Ficly.com (links at bottom)
Graphic created by rubenz87

So according to the Huffington Post and esteemed zombie lore expert, Bob Reiss of the GuildedEarlobe.com, May is Zombie Awareness month. Figured it was time I offered up some zombie-flavored goodness.

Trick is, I never get to do zombie fiction…or really, any post-apocalyptic fiction. Perhaps, you’ll say, that’s because I’m a chick. Fair enough – not many of us women narrating zomfic these days. But haHA! I have thwarted this nonsensical convention because, after frying my vocal cords a bit giving a sexy Irish priest and a sexy, surly lobsterman their requisite sexy voices…VOILA! I sound like a man! Well, at least when I want to…

So may I present, A Zombie Apocalypse, in Three Acts. This is a performance of three separate pieces offered up on Ficly.com, all prequels or sequels of each other (pretty nifty feature of Ficly, that). I like to think of these pieces as the bits and pieces of a journal from some unknown guy, found in the ruins.

Pieces in order of performance:

The End of the World as We Know It, by Pete

I don’t have to run fast…, by Wilson A.

the so-called lucky survivor’s lament, by Wil Wheaton

All Ficly.com stories licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License.

RE-ANIMATED!

The Bells, by Edgar Allen Poe
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

Edgar Allen Poe poems are so much better read-aloud than silent-read, and I am sure this was by his design. “The Bells” is so strongly rhythmic, onomatopoeic, rhyme-laden — all the luscious stuff of poetry and, typical of Poe, also tinged with a sort of suppressed madness.

RE-ANIMATED!

Oh-So-Real-Me, by Lighty & Ficly.com

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

A friend just turned me onto Ficly.com and I am smitten – SMITTEN I tell you! As I cruise into midlife, i find my attention span is, er, a bit shorter than in years past…you could almost say I’m as distractible as my ferrets. So microfiction is my version of nirvana, people.

Oh I love me some long books – truly I do! But there is something so tantalizing about these snippets. They can mean, well, anything you’d like them to mean. And for this piece in particular, I’m curious what it means to you, if you’d care to share.

And if you enjoy the story (read or written), consider commenting on the story’s page. Definitely props an author up a bit to get some feedback from their efforts.

Posted on Ficly.com: http://ficly.com/stories/29709

RE-ANIMATED!

The Tell-Tale Heart, by Edgar Allen Poe

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

I haven’t revisited this story since I was a teen…and was surprised by how inaccurate my memory was. More than a piece of horror, it remains a study in madness…how the seemingly harmless (a heightened sense of sound, for example) can slowly drive a person to and over the brink of madness – that they will eventually do anything to bring relief.

RE-ANIMATED!

Nano, by Hacksaw & Ficly.com…a better, shorter story
Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Y’all know I have a love of flash fiction and that I’ve mentioned Ficly.com before (source of many a zombie piece). One of the coolest things about Ficly is that it allows readers to write a prequel or sequel to a story they really enjoy, and/or allows authors to release a story in serialized format.

That’s the case with “Nano,” which is a different take on a zombie tale, serialized in five parts. Sadly, the story ends on a bit of a cliffhanger, with no sequels written, either by the author or an inspired reader-turned-author.

So if you enjoy this storyline and want to see it continued…consider writing a bit more yourself!

RE-ANIMATED!

The Yellow Wallpaper, by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Read by Xe Sands

(click here for SoundCloud if you cannot see the player above)

Originally, I wanted to record The Lottery, by Shirley Jackson. Sadly, it is not in the public domain. But then, for some reason, this wonderful, dark, gothic story of a woman’s decent into madness (due in large part to the damaging “rest cure” her physician husband subjects her to) came to mind. Not sure whether to thrilled to have the perfect piece, or somewhat disturbed that a tale of neuroses run wild popped into my mind so easily, but I digress…grab your favorite beverage, get cozy in your favorite chair, slip on the headphones, and join me as we listen to our narrator tell us her tale…

RE-ANIMATED!

An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge, by Ambrose Bierce
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Such an iconic story that once read, cannot be forgotten. For those who might not have read this, I will say no more for fear of spoiling it, except to say that I think it was the first time I remember being a slight bit gobsmacked by a story.

RE-ANIMATED!

No. 37. I Have Come to Dread The Raven’s Caw that Signals Moonrise, by X-Himy and 6’minutestory

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

After the sensuality of Lawrence and the randiness of Stuart’s Finn MacGowan to kick off 2012, I thought it best to bring in just a touch of darkness to balance us out. So we return to the wonderful X-Himy and 6’minutestory for another story snippet, a la “Mary Ruth.”

(with a nod to the lovely and talented Robin Sachs who simply IS Jake Marlowe)

Image by Luz Adriana Villa A., shared via Creative Commons 2.0 License

Story site: http://bit.ly/xUgFhz

RE-ANIMATED!

Z is for Zombie, by Kevin Lawver & Ficly.com

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

So Mother’s Day…yeah. I wanted something profound – some bit of poetry that really spoke to motherhood (either being one or having one). And I thought, “Really, how hard could it be to find a public domain poem? Phsssh!” So I looked and…

…nothing.

Okaaaay…must be some “angry” mother poetry (again, in the public domain), right? Sure! I mean, it will be unconventional to go “angry” for Mother’s Day, but heck, we mothers do get angry sometimes. No problem! But…

…nada.

Huh. Then, I had a brainwave (and at my age, you TREASURE those, trust me) and realized that *of course* I had a piece perfect for this occasion. Ok, ok, it’s a bit unconventional as well, BUT! But what better way to honor mothers than to show them at their finest, providing cheerfulness and compassionate explanation to their children…as they show them how to lock-n-load in the face of the zombie horde? Now THAT’s a mom!

Enjoy…

http://ficly.com/stories/9108
Shared under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License

 

.
Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

