February 22, 2013

Ever feel an inner restlessness, a longing for…something you don’t even know you are missing?

Restlessness, by D.H. Lawrence

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Oh David Herbert. Thank you. I came to you tonight, at a loss. I saw the corner of Lady Chatterley’s Lover winking at me from under some miscellaneous papers in my studio (…what? I keep a copy in my studio for inspiration…AND?). I thought I might cull a snippet…I’ve got a favorite go-to part (no, not one of THOSE sections).

But you see, there’s very little light in my studio and well, that meant I’d have to find the piece I wanted to read online. Fine. I do a search. And I find the section I’m looking for…but I also find this: RESTLESSNESS.

It wasn’t supposed to be listed. The section was listing stories, books and other works, but not poetry. And yet, there was this one word: RESTLESSNESS.

You know, the trick with these moments is to stop thinking. Just shut yourself up and open to what is there to be seen/read/heard/experienced.

I clicked. And there was a poem by Lawrence that I had never read. And it spoke to me – of yearning, of restlessness, of escape. Hey, I’m hitting midlife – how could it not speak to me?

Anyway…better late than never, this week’s offering: RESTLESSNESS.

 

 

Tom Jones – Book 3, Chapter 9, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 3 Chapter 9 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

Here we have yet another incitement by Master Blifil against Tom, this time buy making it known to Square and Thwackum that Tom sold him his Bible. Square’s view of the situation is wholly practical: what could be wrong with buying and selling Bibles? Thwackum sees something morally depraved in Tom’s selling it, but glosses over the fact that Blifil bought it. I also love the hint that young Tom has written his name all over the different pages of his Bible. He doesn’t seem to be the best of scholars.

A note on pronunciation: a new character is introduced in this chapter (or rather an old one gets a name) in the person of Squire Western. Classically, the name is pronounced more like “Westin,” which I have preserved here.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

