March 8, 2013

Although spring is nearly here, we’ve got the lamentations of love, the shadows of insanity, topped off with the continuing sage of Tom Jones.

On the Fifth Day, Part 2by Michael Daigle

Read by Diane Havens


Diane writes…

The conclusion of “On the Fifth Day” ….

Michael writes of it: “Logically your mind says that when someone breaks into your home, you get them out by any means possible, but the narrator here does not do that… in fact she leaves the home and comes back…so there is that question about what she sees….at the opening, I tried to build in the sense that she was uncomfortable with the outside world and how intrusions chipped away at her sense of safety…so she withdraws…the question is how far does she go..”

 

 

Carrefour, by Amy Lowell

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

There’s something amazing about a poem that can reach you inside of one sentence (or in the case of audio, 24 seconds) and Amy Lowell is one of the masters of it. So often, I find one of her almost micro-poems to be more powerful than poems that pain complete pictures, over many lines and stanzas.

Or, I could just have a short attention span…

Regardless, Lowell manages to encapsulate an entire relationship arc, all levels of it, in this one sentence. And I stand in awe of her ability to do so.

Imagine the tweets she might have sent…

 

 

 

Lament, by Rosaria Trenta

Read by Sonia Vilim


Sonia writes…

A poem of unrequited love and obsession, the kind that gives only pain and yet can’t be avoided. Recorded with permission of the author, Rosaria Trenta, who retains all rights to the piece.

LAMENT

I don’t care that you ignore me
I don’t mind that you forget me
You touched my soul
And it flew away
You messed with my heart
And it went astray

Forsaken perhaps recoiled
In the fretful mind that never sleeps
Imagined and strongly desired
In the perpetual silence of death
That hurts so deep

You can’t see me in the shadow
You won’t hear me in the dark
I kissed your lips
And they dried my sorrow
I smacked your cheek
And it filled with colour

I don’t care if you destroy me
I don’t mind if you reject me
We have sinned, despised and cursed
We left nothing untouched, unheard
Too late for questions, no reason to repent
We frugally dispense the grains of time
No cheating spouse to gracefully resent
The shattered heart that we cannot mend
Confined to a rhyme in this devil’s lament

 

 

 

Tom Jones – Book 4, Chapter 1, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 3 Chapter 4 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

Here we get our first introduction of Young Master Blifil, or, as Fielding writes it: “Upon which the latter [Tom], who was somewhat passionate in his disposition, immediately caused that phenomenon in the face of the former [Blifil], which we have above remembered.” Was this 18th Century legalese? Could be.

Unfortunately, that’s pretty much all we learn about Blifil. The rest of the chapter is devoted to discussing Square and Thwackum, and to point out that in no way does Fielding disparage religion or philosophy per se, but only when either is used without one informing the other.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

