April 5, 2013

Well evidently spring is the season of…reminiscence here at Going Public!

 

What lips my lips have kissed, and where, and why, by Edna St. Vincent Millay

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Been thinking about aging recently. My grandmother was lost to Alzheimer’s several years back…and I just read this poignant bit of reminiscence – Side by Side, by Mally Z. Ray (in the most excellent, The Sun Magazine).

What will it be like when I can no longer remember everyone I’ve kissed? And isn’t that already happening, aren’t bits of me trailing behind me as I age, unintentionally dropped like forgotten notes? I can’t really know what I’ve forgotten can I? No, but I can feel it…feel it, as Millay so beautifully puts it:

I only know that summer sang in me
A little while, that in me sings no more.

So it was fortuitous that my voice was still recovering a bit when I recorded this. Like a  poignant and unwanted glimpse of regret to come.

 

 

My Grandma’s Love Letters, by Hart Crane

Read by Diane Havens


Diane writes…

For grandmothers who were once young lovers, for their grandchildren who knew them and did not know them at all, for generations reaching out to one other for commonality, for respect and love and understanding.

This beautiful poem by twentieth century poet Hart Crane, is one of my favorite poems of all time, my first offering for April, poetry month.

 

Tom Jones – Book 4, Chapter 5, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 4 Chapter 5 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

Well, oh well! Tom has finally asked Sophia help out Black George, as was first hinted at five or so chapters ago! I’d like to focus, therefore, on the use of digression as a literary device.

We’ve spent the past few chapters preparing the ground so that we know, to a certain extent, the hidden motives and the relationships between each of the characters involved. Now, one might think that it would be more elegant to have established all of these things beforehand, and that’s very probably true. But let’s for a moment discuss a different book, by a different writer, that was published about 10 years later. This was Laurence Sterne’s The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman.

Shandy took the digression device about as far as it could possibly go. In order for the narrator to discuss the events of his life, he needs to start with his birth. Realizing that things had already been conspiring before his birth to shape his existence, he moves further back, to the moment of his conception. When his conception isn’t quite enough, he has to go back to the Siege of Namur of 1695. Ultimately, very little story gets told. We learn next to nothing about Shandy’s life (though quite a few of his opinions) and many of the chapter he says he’ll get to never actually appear in the book. Granted, Laurence Sterne died before completing it, but there is every indication that, had he continued writing the novel, we would have gotten yet more layers of digression and still more questions to be explored.

Also, I get the feeling that the songs that Squire Western really enjoys are probably terrible.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

