May 31, 2013

Well…we’ve got disconcerting balanced out by Tom Jones…and this marks our last weekly post until July 5th. On June 1st, look for the roll-out of Going Public…in Shorts!

The Promises I Made and the Ones I Kept, by Lacy Lalonde & Little Fiction – from Listerature Volume 2

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Another little powerhouse of a piece from Listerature Volume 2, from Little Fiction. This one sneaks up on you and packs a bit of a wallop in the end. When I first read it, I didn’t fully understand what happened. Maybe I didn’t want to understand what happened. Even after recording it, even then, I went back looking for an alternate explanation.

I have friends who’ve walked this line and are, as of this typing, still on this side of it. Hoping to help keep it that way.

And I’ve felt myself at the metaphorical point of writing such a list. Grateful that as of this writing, it’s been a long time since a “lie down at the bottom of the Bay day” as a dear friend and I like to call them. Ha. Like. As if “like” could possibly apply here.

Well.

My gratitude to the author and publisher for allowing me to record this powerful piece.

 

Tom Jones – Book 4, Chapter 13, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 4 Chapter 13 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This week’s Tom Jones is action packed! Sophia nearly falls off a horse! Tom breaks his arm while saving her! Everything’s fine!

But here’s the kicker: the very act of Tom saving Sophia from the horse finally cements their love for one another. It’s just too bad Tom has already ruined another girl…

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

