August 16, 2013

I’m a *wee* bit late getting this out today – my apologies.

It’s back to the poignant offerings of Little Fiction, some original poetry, and of course, the continuing saga of Tom Jones…

Apartment Hunting in Three Acts, by Jules Archer and Little Fiction

Read by Xe Sands

Xe  writes…

Copyright Jules Archer 2013
Published in 2013 by Little Fiction
Recorded with permission of author & publisher

From the wonderful Little Fiction and talented author Jules Archer comes “Apartment Hunting in Three Acts,” which is about something else entirely.

I loved this piece upon first read, but it blindsided me while recording and then editing it. Maybe that’s why it took so darn long to get this one to where it needed to be. It’s the shift, the growth of the story’s narrator, “Louey” that didn’t hit me until after I started working on it. Been trying to figure out how I could have missed that maturation, that shifting of loyalties, that (dare I say it?) pulling of her head out of her lower half…

Really, this is a story about the loss of innocence – yes, Liz’s as she stumbles a bit blindly into a new world of singledom and apartment hunting and credit histories…but more so Louey’s, as she is faced for what feels to as the first time, with her mother as someone separate from her own experiences of her – as someone who has inherent worth and stress and need and tragedy completely separate from Louey’s experience as her child.

And as the mother of a daughter not that much younger than Louey, maybe what I feel most is a longing for that moment, that transformation within my own mother-daughter relationship.

 

 

 

Among the Bees, by Diane Havens

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

This was a week that put me in touch with an old fear instilled in me in childhood by a mother who was insect phobic, especially of bees. I am no longer fearful of bees, in fact, have great respect for them, worry over their numbers dwindling due to overuse of pesticides and other factors, and now will happily work beside them in the garden. There is a window through which I can observe them closely where the overgrown hydrangea touch my kitchen window. And just a few days ago, a friend told me her son had harvested honey from a hive he’s kept on their property this summer.
And so this poem. About bees and about more.

 

 

Tom Jones – Book 5, Chapter 10, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 5 Chapter 10 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This chapter finds Tom wandering around Allworthy’s lands in the drunken revel in which we last saw him. His thoughts turn to Sophia, and he extols her virtues at length. Of course, Sophia isn’t around, but Molly Seagrim is. Molly is hardly as beautiful or glamorous as Sophia (“bedewed with odiferous effluvia” are Fielding’s words for it), but Tom’s feeling amorous, and, well, drunk off his ass.

So, of course, this is the precise time that Blifil and Thwackum happen to be wandering by, and Blifil feels compelled to ambush Jones.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

