November 22, 2013

Well, this week has been a crazy whirlwind in GP-land, so I don’t even know what I’ve got for you! Thanks to the generosity of Rebecca K. O’Connor, I know we’ve got a bit of awesomeness that felt like a present to voice. We’ve also got the continuing saga of poor Ichabod Crane and Tom Jones, as well as a very timely historical piece from Lincoln. Enjoy!

Stories of the Ruckus, from The Perfectly Trained Parrot, by Rebecca K. O’Connor

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Today is my 43rd birthday. Screw this not-naming-your-age malarkey. I’m naming and claiming it! One thing I have NOT wanted to name and claim is the death of my grandparents, or rather, their absence. Nope. Nuh-uh. No way the two people who seemed to see only the beauty in me, despite so very many failings and screw-ups could possibly be gone, along with all their stories. No. Way.

So when the fabulous friend and author Rebecca K. O’Connor offered to let me record one of the mini essays that she included in her excellent, The Perfectly Trained Parrot, it felt like a birthday present of its own – and a sign. She recommended this particular story…and once I read it, I realized that I understood exactly how she felt.

It’s my hope that somehow, someway, her gift to me will help me to finally realize that my grandparents love and stories haven’t gone anywhere…that I just need to open to them again.

Thank you, Rebecca.

 

Recorded with permission of the author. Rebecca can be found at Blue Sky Writing. Her excellent parrot guide, The Perfectly Trained Parrot was published by TFH Publications.

 

 

Gettysburg Address, by Abraham Lincoln

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

It’s the 150th anniversary of President Abraham Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address this week, as well as the 50th anniversary of the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. The United States remains a nation troubled, divided. These beautiful words by Abraham Lincoln, a poet as well as president, reminds us of our challenge, our responsibilities going forward.

 

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Part 3, by Washington Irving

Read by Daniel Wallace

Daniel writes…

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow is a classic ghost story Washington Irving. The characters have become legendary on their own. The Headless Horseman, Ichabod Crane have become part of American lore.

 

Tom Jones – Book 6, Chapter 12, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

Book 6 Chapter 12 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This chapter details Tom’s leaving Squire Allworthy’s home. He stops at a stream and proceeds to roll around on the floor in transports of agony. In doing so, he loses all the possessions in his pockets, including the 500 pounds that Allworthy gave him. Luckily for Tom, George Seagrim shows up, and, true to George’s nature, George finds Tom’s possessions and keeps them for himself, despite pretending to help Tom find them. Of course, being a good friend, George agrees to deliver to Sophia a letter Tom writes. George then receives a letter from Mrs. Honour, Sophia’s maid, where Sophia pledges not to marry any other man but Tom.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

