December 13, 2013

 

With Child, by Genevieve Taggard

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

This poem written by American poet Genevieve Taggard as a meditation on her one and only pregnancy … a suitable poem for today as I remember the joy and wonder in the anticipation of the birth of my only child 17 years ago this weekend.9.

 

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Part 4, by Robert Frost

Read by Daniel Wallace

 

Pedro’s Guide, Revisited (for Dad), by  Peter Davey

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Today is my father’s memorial. I’d rather have a celebration of life, but there is, of course, need for a sort of acceptance to settle in before that can truly happen, and acceptance isn’t even on the horizon yet. Is there a stage of grief for “WTF?”

I’m out with family and away from my studio, or I might have attempted something today. My father was a musician and creative through and through, and he would have loved a custom recording. But circumstances don’t allow for that yet, so what to choose, what to choose…

As I was surfing through all the depressing poetry I’ve recorded, I suddenly realized that what both my father and I need is a big dose of levity right now. And that immediately led me to Peter Davey’s hilarious, “Pedro’s Guide to the Perfect Dinner Party, Part II” because my dad loved food, loved good company and had to suffer through MANY dinner parties. He would have loved Peter’s characterizations and likely started to muse on who fit which description IRL.

So Dad, this is for you…for a laugh amidst all the shock and sadness.

 

Tom Jones, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark  writes…

CHECK BACK LATER TODAY FOR NEW CHAPTER OF TOM JONES – THANKS!

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

