March 21, 2014

Happy Spring, Everyone! Spring is definitely in the air, even if our hearts are a bit slow on the uptake…

Album, by Diane Havens

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

I often look through my mother’s old family albums, and it surprises me that some moments I recall vividly without having the photo trigger but still it is as the remembrance of a dream . Other times, it’s like looking at someone else entirely, among strangers, and it baffles me that I could ever have really been there.
This short poem, like a tiny black and white photograph, from my collection, WITHOUT MAKEUP.

 

The Enkindled Spring, by D.H. Lawrence

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Poetry is perfect for this – when how you feel cannot be reconciled with the world around you, its general mood. Today is the first day of spring, the Spring Equinox, a day of perfect balance, a straight-up light-increasing, joy-inducing confirmation of life in general.

And yet, inside, I feel as if I’m barely thawing. Isn’t it still January? Has my father really been gone for over three months? How did time move this quickly and I didn’t even notice…more importantly, how do I catch up? Maybe I can call a spiritual taxi…

Lawrence, bless him, speaks to this disconnect beautifully. And that I rediscovered this poem today is no accident. All things in their own time, and as you need them.

Image credit: © Copyright Pam Brophy and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

A Nameless Grave, by H.W. Longfellow

Read by Jay Gould

 

Tom Jones, Book VII, Chapter 15, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark writes…

Book 7 Chapter 15 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

The thrilling* conclusion to Book 7! So, it turns out that Northerton was not, in fact, brought down to Hell, as we may have wildly concluded from last week’s chapter, but instead spent the night with the innkeeper. He climbed up the chimney and met with her, and that’s why he wasn’t in his holding room when Tom went to duel him. There then follows a bit of comedy between two servants, when Tom begins ringing his bell. Neither of the servants thinks it’s their job to answer the bell, so the Lieutenant goes to meet Tom. Tom exonerates the sentry who thought he was a ghost, and the lieutenant tells Tom they’ll be leaving, and that he should rest and recuperate before attempting to follow them.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

