March 28, 2014

Oh we are *just* getting this in under the wire this week…I blame the exuberance of SPRING! (erm, and deadlines…they might have a wee bit to do with it)

 

 

The Dream, by Edna St. Vincent Millay

 

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

This one goes out to my stepmother. I wish her some peace.

Image credit: “Day 21 – Empty Beds” by Ciaran McGuiggan, licensed under Creative Commons 2.0

 

 

 

Happy Birthday, by Diane Havens

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

I often look through my mother’s old family albums, and it surprises me that some moments I recall vividly without having the photo trigger but still it is as the remembrance of a dream . Other times, it’s like looking at someone else entirely, among strangers, and it baffles me that I could ever have really been there.
This short poem, like a tiny black and white photograph, from my collection, WITHOUT MAKEUP.

 

 

Piano, by D.H. Lawrence

Read by Jay Gould

 

 

 

Tom Jones, Book VIII, Chapter 1, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

Mark writes…

Book 8 Chapter 1 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

We’ve made it all the way to Book 8! As always, the first chapter of this book is a discursive, or “prolegomenous” chapter. In it, Fielding discusses what he calls the marvelous, or what we’d call the fantastical. He makes subtle arguments of the place of the fantastical, the improbable, and the implausible in classic fiction, poetry, and modern fiction.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

