Summer Shorts ’14 – Day 15!

…and now we return to short stories and essays for the duration of June. First up is DION GRAHAM, offering the excellent Days Gone By, by Eric Jerome Dickey, hosted and interviewed over at Literate Housewife. Next, is GARY DIKEOS bringing in classic O. Henry with The Higher Abdication and a fun interview, right here on Going Public.

 

Listening & Downloading 

Days Gone By is offered in full for online listening today, 6/15, only. Full compilation available via Tantor Media – all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

If player does not function properly, go directly to SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.


 

Days Gone By, by Eric Jerome Dickey

Ever think about how life might’ve been? Or about how it was, seen through the golden glow of memory? Can we reconcile the past with the diminished returns of the present? Would you jump at the chance to get what you wanted but never had? Or is everything just as it needs to be? They played the blues. But, man, the blues never played them. Days Gone By, the first story published by acclaimed author Eric Jerome Dickey. Read by the narrator of his sensational Gideon series, Dion Graham. Copyright is held by Eric Jerome Dickey. Recorded with permission.
 
Dion Graham from HBO’s The Wire, also narrates The First 48 on A&E. A multiple Audie Award–winning and critically acclaimed actor and narrator, he has performed on Broadway, off Broadway, internationally, in films, and in several hit television series. His performances have been praised as thoughtful and compelling, vivid and full of life.

 


The next best thing to a good book is sharing and discussing it with others. Social media has created a wonderful platform for discussing books, authors, and narrators with people all over the world. Literate Housewife has been an active book blog since January 2007 as a means to carve out a piece of my life just for myself. It was the best New Year’s Resolution I’ve ever made. It might also be the only one I’ve kept up. Ha! My blog isn’t the only place I discuss books. I have a Facebook page and I maintain an active presence on Twitter as well (@lithousewife). My Twitter feed is where you’ll most often find my immediate reactions to books, authors, and narrators. It’s also my number one source for recommendations. There are so many wonderful books I’ve discovered by following some really incredible readers, publishers, and authors.

In addition to this blog, I am the co-founder of the Armchair Audies, an audiobook challenge for those who like to take an active roll in preparing for the APA’s Audie Awards. 2013 will be our second year and we now have a Facebook page as well. I am also a founding member of the Bloggers RecommendAdvisory Board.



 

 

 

Listening & Downloading 

The Higher Abdication is offered in full for online listening today, 6/15 only. Full compilation available via Tantor Media – all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

If player does not function properly, go directly to SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.

The Higher Abdication by O. Henry

Of the more than 300 short stories written by William Sydney Porter under the pen name of O. Henry, about 50 of them were based on his life and times in the West. Many reflect the nearly 16 years he lived in South Texas, Austin and Houston. In THE HIGHER ABDICATION, he writes about a vagabond named “Curly” and how he comes to understand, the hard way, of what the law of the West really means.

Gary Dikeos is a Los Angeles-based voice actor and audiobook narrator He is bilingual in Spanish and his voice has a warm and resonant quality which lends itself to narration and storytelling in many genres. Gary’s wide range of dialects, characters and ages bring books to life and keep readers engaged.

 

 

 

Had so much fun with John Pruden, that we posed a few questions to Gary too, who was also good enough to answer them!

 

Why did you choose to narrate a piece from O. Henry?

GD: My father turned me on to S. J. Pereleman, P.G. Wodehouse, Mark Twain and O. Henry when I was growing up.   He gave me the complete works of O. Henry when I entered college.  I also love Westerns and have not had a chance to narrate one yet, so I took this opportunity to “kill two birds with one stone” as it were.

Who was your favorite character to narrate and why? 

GD: My favorite characters to narrate in The Higher Abdication were Poky Rodgers and Mustang Taylor.  They are two supporting characters who contribute much of the hilarity in several scenes.  They are both uneducated ranch hands and they have wonderful lines/jokes.  it’s fun to give voice to characters such as these.

How do you know what voice to use for similar characters?

GD: I let the emotion of the action/dialog dictate the voice and also the character and physical description helps.



Do you feel you become the characters as you narrate?

GD: I don’t feel I become the character, but I can get deeply involved in the feeling and the situation the character is going through, depending on the level of the writing.

What literary, stage, or movie character would you (figuratively) kill to play? 

GD: I would love to play any Shakespeare character.  I have yet to tackle a Shakespeare stage production which is my dream.  I played the part of Jacques Roux in the Underground Theater LA production of Marat/Sade; so I love playing the dranged and villainous.

Which narrator (other than yourself) would read the story of your life and why that one?  

GD: I would like Johnny Heller to read the story of my life.  He would definitely keep listeners in stitches and hopefully keep the boring factor out of the equation.

If you were transmogrified into a mad scientist, what would your greatest invention be?

GD: I would invent a transporter like the one in Star Trek, so I could “beam over” to NY for APAC instead of spend 5 hours on a plane!

What’s your least favorite part of the recording process (and why)?  


GD: My least favorite part of the recording process is preparing a separate character track for each new character presented.  I punch record using Pro Tools when I narrate in my home studio and I prepare and name a separate character track beneath my main recording track for each new character so if I forget what the character sounds like, I can refer to it easily by calling it up wherever I am in the file. The problem is that it takes a few minutes and disrupts my flow when I’m recording.

 

Thanks for stopping by, Gary!

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

