Summer Shorts ’14 – Day of Classic Horror!

FULL FREE LISTENING RELEASE SCHEDULE – CLICK HERE!

 

Oh do we have a treat for you today…we’ve got a triumverate of classic horror to share, featuring John McClain, Mike Chamberlain and William Dufris/AudioComics!

 

First, Mike Chamberlain brings in Lovecraft with The Statement of Randolph Carter, with audio and an interview over at Paperbacks n’Papercuts…

 

…then we start in with Poe with a full audio Theatre production of The Cask of Amontillado, from William Dufris and AudioComics over at Jenn’s Bookshelves...

 

finished y’all off with The Black Cat, by Poe, read by the fabulous John McLain, and featuring an interview with John right here on Going Public!

 

With three fabulous and dastardly stories, we’re giving you an extra day to catch them all – listen online through Friday, 6/27!

 

Enjoy – IF YOU DARE…mwahahahaha!

 

 

Listening & Downloading 

The Statement of Randolph Carter is offered in full for online listening today & tomorrow,  6/26 & 6/27 ONLY. Full compilation available via Tantor Media  for $9.99 through June- all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

 

If player below doesn’t play on your device/browser, cruise to the SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.


 

 

The Statement of Randolph Carter, by H. P. Lovecraft

Harley Warren and his protégé Randolph Carter have trekked through long-abandoned woods in search of a fabulous and ancient treasure, but only Warren has the fortitude to descend into the ancient crypt they eventually find. At first, Carter is annoyed at being left on the surface, but as he hears his mentor’s tales through a military phone, he changes his mind.

 

 


Mike Chamberlain

Mike Chamberlain is an actor and voice-over performer, as well as an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. Along with animation and video game characters, Mike performs narration and voices promos for television.

 

 

Host: MV Freeman
M.V. Freeman is a native of Minnesota, but calls North Alabama her home. By day her mind is filled with medical jargon at the local health clinic, but at night she finds herself exploring alternate worlds within our own. Heavily influenced by Slavic languages and culture, you will find she weaves these elements into her stories.She is represented by The Aponte Literary Agency  Her award-winning and best-selling debut novel INCANDESCENT is the first in a series. She is currently working on the third book while plotting others. When she is not writing, she’s reading, cooking, throwing around kettle bells, or making coffee. You can contact her at: mvfreeman@ymail.com

 

 

 

 

 

Listening & Downloading 

The Cask of Amontillado is offered in full for online listening today & tomorrow,  6/26 & 6/27 ONLY. Full compilation available via Tantor Media  for $9.99 through June- all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

 

If player below doesn’t play on your device/browser, cruise to the SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.


 

 

The Cask of Amontialldo – Audio Theatre Production, by Edgar Allan Poe

The Cask of Amontillado is about a man’s deadly revenge on an acquaintance whom, he believes, has insulted him. Like several of Poe’s stories, and in keeping with the 19th-century fascination with the subject, the narrative revolves around a person being buried alive—in this case, by immurement. Copyright of recording is held by William Dufris/AudioComics Company. Included with permission. 

 

William Dufris/ AudioComics

AudioComics produces professional, full-cast “audio movies” inspired by stories from comic books, graphic novels and genre fiction. Co-Producers: Elaine Lee / Lance Roger Axt / William Dufris. http://www.audiocomicscompany.com


 
I’m a full-time working mom with an amazingly supportive husband, John, and two boys John-John (13) and Justin (7). We live in the DC metro area.

I’ve been reviewing books for around 14 years now, but decided to take the plunge and create a blog in March of 2008. Reading has always been a big part of my life. Since I can remember, I’ve always had a book nearby or a book in hand. I began blogging about books because I love to discuss and recommend books.My oldest son was/is an reluctant reader, so blogging has actually improved our relationship because I’ve been able to discover books that interest him.  My youngest, on the other hand, has been a reader since birth and devours books just as quickly as I do!

In addition to reviewing books for my blog, I also contribute to Quirk Books Blog and I am a founding member of Bloggers Recommend. Additionally, I assist various public library systems in creating reading group resources and discussion topics.  Finally, I lead a healthy and active fiction book club at my home away from home, One More Page Books in Arlington, VA.

If you have any questions about my reviews, the books I blog about, or about me in general, please stop by my Contact Me page or email me at jennsbookshelf@gmail.com.

 

 


 


Listening & Downloading 

The Statement of Randolph Carter is offered in full for online listening today & tomorrow,  6/26 & 6/27 ONLY. Full compilation available via Tantor Media  for $9.99 through June- all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

 

If player below doesn’t play on your device/browser, cruise to the SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.


 

 

The Black Cat, by Edgar Allan Poe

A seemingly normal life can unravel very, very quickly. Especially when strong drink crosses paths with that darn cat.

 

 


John McLain
 
is a professional voice actor and narrator who has performed over 100 audiobook titles from thrillers to non-fiction, westerns to mysteries, and more. Highlights include The Sinner’s Garden, The Dark Lady, The Test, The Judge, The Vow and Home Run. John was nominated for an Audie Award in 2012 for his performance in the historical fiction novel, The Resurrection of Nat Turner, Part 1: The Witnesses. John has also appeared on the musical theatre stage in Dallas and Phoenix.

…and now…a li’l interview with John, who was a good sport and answered some oddball questions!
GP: Who was your favorite character to narrate and why?
JM: Last year, I did a series of detective novels set in late (and post) Soviet Russia.  One of the main characters was a detective named Emil Karpo.  The author, Stuart M. Kaminsky, did a beautiful job of crafting Inspector Karpo.  He had many of the same attributes that we love about detectives; hard-boiled, weary, closed-off, ruthless, etc.  But he was so much more.  In the series, Karpo had bought into Communism and the Soviet worldview 100%, and the empire he had believed in so deeply was crumbling around him.  Throughout the series, Kaminsky shows us Karpo’s personal, often painful evolution.  The character is very dark, almost devoid of emotion, and ruthlessly loyal.  He was challenging and wonderful at the same time.
GP: Of all the characters you’ve performed, which one was most like you and why?
JM: Inwardly, there’s no question – Mark Sarvas’ title character from his debut novel, Harry, Revised.  Harry Rent is a confident, successful man on the outside; but on the inside, he is a very shy man who is clumsily trying to find his way.  The entire novel centers around the various ways – many of them outrageous – that Harry tries to “revise” his persona, his relationships, and his place in the world.  I experienced the whole gamut of human emotion as I told Harry’s story: joy, sorrow, fear, humiliation, love, loss, rage, and reckless abandon.  Personally, I found Harry infinitely relatable.  
 
GP: What literary, stage, or movie character would you (figuratively) kill to play?
JM: That’s easy – it’s right near the top of my “bucket list.”  I would love to play the title role in Stephen Sondheim’sSweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.  Aside from the always brilliant and sometimes bizarre musical composition that is Sondheim’s trademark, Todd is a classically tragic figure that I’d love to unpack on the stage.  As an actor, I’m always drawn to this sort of character; a pretty average, decent person who suddenly experiences unspeakable evil and wrongdoing – and tragically falls to the “dark side” of vengeance and evil himself.  I think Shakespeare would have loved this show.  
 
GP: Which narrator (other than yourself) would read the story of your life and why that one?
JM: I’ve always been a huge fan of James Garner.  His personal style is so matter-of-fact and down-to-earth, and yet he is capable of playing deep emotion.  Plus he has a delightful sense of humor, like me!  Add to this that we’re both from Oklahoma, and he’s my choice.  I don’t know if he does audiobooks, but he does voiceovers, so I guess he counts.
 
GP: What’s your least favorite part of the recording process (and why)?
JM: I wish I didn’t have to take so many breaks.  Often it seems like I’m just getting into a nice groove in the story when my stomach growls, or my voice needs a rest, etc.  I wish I could just stay in the booth all day and get literally lost in a story.  I think that’s when I’m at my best as a performer.
 
GP: If you were transmogrified into a mad scientist, what would your greatest invention be?
JM: My fellow narrators will agree: I’d invent a completely silent leaf-blower.
 
GP: If you were to start a rumor about yourself, what would it be?
JM: That I truly was the inspiration behind the ultimate hard-boiled cop, Bruce Willis’ John McClane from the classic Die Hard series of films.  I still get asked about it all the time.  If only…
 
GP: The award that doesn’t exist but if it did it would have to be awarded to you is…?
JM: “Most Fortunate Narrator.”  The journey of my life, both personally and professionally, that has brought me to when I am today was filled with wonderful people who encouraged, taught, supported, loved, guided, and advocated for me along the way.  Were it not for them, I don’t know that I ever would have discovered this gift of storytelling that God saw fit to give me.  Each morning when I enter the booth, I’m overwhelmed with gratitude.  In my heart and mind, the booth transforms into the campfires of my youth – when I would often be the one everybody looked to for a good yarn.  I never dreamed that I would be here one day.  I am blessed, indeed.

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

