Summer Shorts ’14 – Day 29!

FULL FREE LISTENING RELEASE SCHEDULE – CLICK HERE!

 

Coming down to it, folks! Today, Karen White  rounds out our final weekend with Susanna Daniel’s Sharks and Seals, with a joint narrator/author interview over at Every Day I Write the Book. Check it out!

Listening & Downloading 

Sharks andSeals is offered in full for online listening today 6/27 ONLY. Full compilation available via Tantor Media  for $9.99 through June- all proceeds benefit ProLiteracy.

 

If player below doesn’t play on your device/browser, cruise to the SoundCloud track by clicking HERE.

 

 

Sharks and Seals, by Susanna Daniel

Sharks and Seals is the story of a young girl who must look beyond the limitations of her family to find courage to live in the wide world. The story was originally commissioned by the Significant Objects project, and the pens that inspired the story were auctioned, along with the story itself, to raise funds for Girls Write Now. Copyright is held by Susanna Daniel. Recorded with permission.

 

Susanna Daniel is the author of two novels. Stiltsville was awarded the 2011 PEN/Bingham Award for best debut fiction and was named an Amazon Best Debut of 2010 and an Oprah.com summer read. Her second novel, Sea Creatures, was called “a captivating, haunting novel” by Abraham Verghese, and was named a Top Pick of 2013 by the Minneapolis Star-Tribune and a Editor’s Top Pick by Amazon.com. Susanna is a co-founder of the Madison Writers’ Studio and is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and Columbia University. Her work has been published in Newsweek, Slate, Epoch, and elsewhere. She was born and raised in Miami, Florida, and now lives with her family in Madison, Wisconsin. She is at work on a third novel.

 

 

 

Karen White, Karen White has been narrating and directing audiobooks for more than a dozen years and has well over one hundred books to her credit. Honored to be included among AudioFile‘s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she is also an Audie Award finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner and has earned multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards for narration and direction.

Publishers Weekly says of Karen’s narration of Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick, “Karen White delivers a stunning reading, her character interpretations are confident and well-rounded, and she forges a strong bond with the audience.”

Speaking of Audiobooks says, “Karen is one of my auto-buy narrators—if I think a book may interest me, her narration will sway me to give it a try.” 

 

 


 

 

 

 I have been blogging about books here at Everyday I Write the Book since 2006. I love to read, and I love to talk about books and what other people are reading. I follow a lot of book bloggers and read a lot of reviews, and am therefore always discovering new books. As far as what kinds of books you’ll find here, I read mostly literary fiction and memoirs, with the occasional non-fiction thrown in. I am not into YA, mysteries, thrillers, vampires, dystopia, supernatural, religious books or romance.

I live in Washington, DC with my husband and eight year-old twin daughters and baby boy (he’s 7 months old as I write this). For my day job, I am the head of the engagement team at a social media agency called New Media Strategies in Rosslyn, Virginia.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! You can contact me at gayle@everydayiwritethebookblog.com or at @gweiswasser on Twitter.  Also, I do accept review copies. Click here for my review policy.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

