7.18.14

Let’s see…this week we’ve got an awesome spoken word poetry dance, more original poetry from the fab Diane Havens, new piece from A is 4 Advocate, Tom Jones, and a sad revisiting. Come on in…the audio is fine…

 

 

She Dances, by Phetote Mshairi

 

 

Phetote writes…

Choreograph your interpretation of this poignant poem, then email a vid of the performance to phetote1@yahoo.com …and/or post it to Youtube or Fb or wherever you want, and be sure to tag the vid with #SheDancesChallenge and#Phetote. I look forward to experiencing your poetry in motion!

 

 

 

Unfinished, by Diane Havens

Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

Following my father-in-law’s death last year, my husband found among his belongings a beautiful but unfinished crocheted bedspread.

From my collection WITHOUT MAKEUP.

 

Mother Nature Turn Down 4 Whaaaat? by A is 4 Advocate

Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Yeah, yeah…I know. I just released this two weeks ago. Can you really revisit something that’s still somewhat in the current consciousness? But today is my father’s first birthday since he died. And all I can think is that I wish he was still here so I could yet again forget to call him on his birthday until the last possible minute, waking him up and telling him card is on its way and as soon as I think of a present I’ll send it. And feeling a bit like a fail of a daughter, but knowing he didn’t care, never cared…because he knew I loved him, and I knew he loved me anyway, even if I forgot to send him a card.

Again, my profound thanks to Annie Neugebauer for allowing me to record this beautiful piece.

Image credit: Fel1x
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License

 

 

 

Tom Jones Book IX Ch 2, by Henry Fielding

Read by Mark Turetsky

 

Mark writes…

Book 9 Chapter 2 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

Well, this week is a momentous occasion! We are now two years into this project, meaning we are exactly at the halfway point! It’s now 104 chapters long, and at slightly over 19 hours in length, it’s by a wide margin my longest solo audiobook project!

Anyway, we begin this chapter right where we ended Book 8, with Tom and the Old Man of the Hill looking out over the world. Tom spots a woman being attacked by a scoundrel. Tom leaps into action, rescuing the woman and beating the scoundrel bloody. It turns out the scoundrel is Tom’s most recent nemesis, Northerton. Northerton escapes, and Tom and the woman head into Upton in order to find help.

Categories: Going Public

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

