9.5.14

Back to school times for many of us. Back to…many things. Back to autumn, when it feels like spring has barely finished (where was summer?). Back to cooler weather. Back to various stresses and workloads.

But.

Here at Going Public, we’re not going back to anything. We’re going…sideways. We’re doing a whole month of recordings from Six Minute Story – a wonderful site that fosters creativity and getting out of your mental rut by creating 6-minute flash fiction challenges.

Well, some of us are doing this. And some are offering their usual awesomeness. But we do hope to increase the number of Six Minute Stories as September progresses.

In the meantime, to read some of the nifty pieces folks wrote in response to the GP challenge, check out (some of which might soon be in audio too!):

 

Short for Nothing, by kayemnic

The hat and the sea, by Galen

The ring, by M.v. Freeman

Tide, by Chris Barnes

 

Passing It Down, by Xe Sands & Six Minute Story

Read by Xe Sands

 

Xe writes…

So. Right. How this poem wrote itself.

…the other day, as I was moving between the garage and the house – just a mundane moment in my day, I was talking to myself as usual, and made a noise, some sort of exclamation. Just a sound really. And as I reached for the screen door handle, I realized… that was exactly you, that sound was you, one of your exclamations, just coming right out of my mouth. When you were alive, I think I knew that I did that all the time, but I also know now that it didn’t carry the ache with it that it does now. It didn’t feel like I was the only one…saying that. How ridiculous that must sound. But I had this sudden realization that I was the only one making that particular sound now, carrying on the tradition, so to speak. And how utterly lonely that felt for a moment.

And right then, as I was passing into the house, I knew I had to write this down. Told my husband to hold whatever thought he was about to share, cruised to Six Minute Story, chose a blank prompt…and wrote this.

So Dad, this is for you.

 

 

 

Endless Day, by Wayne Gatfield

Read by Wayne Gatfield

Three more of my poems with music

 

 

 

The Choice is Not Mine, by Tendai Mwanaka

Read by Tendai Mwanaka

a spiritual/science fiction/ fantasy poem…

 

 

Tom Jones Book X Ch 2, by Henry Fielding

Mark writes…

Book 10 Chapter 2 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This chapter involves a midnight break-in at the inn! An irate Irishman arrives, seeking his runaway wife, and breaks down Mrs. Waters’ door, thinking she’s his wife. Unfortunately, Tom is also there, and a fight breaks out, but it’s quickly quelled by a friend of Tom’s attacker who happened to be at the inn, and who points out the mistaken identities.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

