11.7.14 (ish)

Wait…what do you mean it’s not Friday…or Saturday…wait, it’s Sunday? GAH!

I blame Daylight Saving Time!

*sigh*

Alright. Well, we’re eking in *just* under the virtual wire, but as it is still Sunday (and technically the weekend), we have not yet failed to deliver! Let’s see…what do we have on tap this week…oh! More spoken word from A is 4 Advocate, Wayne Gatfield is back, some Shakespeare from Rabbi K, a bit of Lawrence…and of course, Tom Jones to round us out.

Enjoy!

 

Seven Seals (revisited), by D.H. Lawrence

Read by Xe Sands

 

Xe writes…

Wow. What a struggle this week was in terms of getting something decent to Come. Out.

This has long been one of my favorite hidden Lawrence gems…and by hidden, I merely mean hidden to ME. Came across it years back and loved it immediately.

So flash forward to this past week…

I’ll admit it…I was riding high this week. It was a good week – challenging, but ultimately good. And by Friday morning, I was fully in Lawrence mode – I felt, I don’t know, dangerous? A little wild? Like anything was acceptable, regardless of cost or reason?

So, feeling fairly full of myself, I sat down to record this. Let it sit a few hours, and listened…and…huh. Whatever magic I felt when I recorded them? Gone. So I sent out word that Lawrence wouldn’t be happening after all, and set it aside, feeling the stirrings of doubt.

Came back to it Saturday. No dice. Played with other poems, but it was all ash in my ears. The poem that came out well? The one in which Lawrence mentions struggling with his inner peace…the one that was too caustic to release.

In a bit of a fit, I listened to “Seven Seals” one last time…and there THERE – there was something there. This performance perfectly encapsulates the love/hate relationship I have with Lawrence, so why NOT post it? Why not post it, as the struggle it is? There are parts that sing for me, and there are parts in this performance that make me cringe, that stand in for Lawrence’s own ridiculous moments of grandiosity and forced intensity. Those moments whisper to me to open a recording window and Get. It. Right.

But no. I’m letting it stand.

I’m letting it stand.

So now that we’re going into our respective weeks, may all of us find a way to honor our struggles, find the beauty in them – the parts that really work, not just the parts that are tearing us apart.

 

 

Watch me, Hear I Go, by A is 4 Advocate

Changeless Silence, by Wayne Gatfield

Read by Wayne Gatfield

This is another two poems of mine with music.

 

 

 

Hamlet – To Be or Not to Be by Rabbit K. Poetry & Music

 

Tom Jones Book XI Ch 2, by Henry Fielding

Mark writes…

Book 11 Chapter 2 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

This week, we pick Sophia’s story after leaving Upton, with a mysterious pursuer. She’s relieved to discover that it’s another lady and her maid who are chasing her, and even moreso when she discovers that it’s Mrs. Fitzpatrick, who is Sophia’s cousin. They arrive at yet another inn, whose innkeeper fancies himself the smartest man around. He believes he’s sussed out who the mysterious ladies are, and that they’re Jacobites. By the end of the chapter, he’s decided that she must be Jenny Cameron herself, a folk hero Jacobite supporter who may well be a composite of several different women.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

