11.14.14 (ish)

Hmm. It appears that Sunday is the new Friday – who knew?

Let’s call it a “Sunday Salon,” shall we? The Going Public Sunday Salon…that could totally work.

So what do we have in the Salon today…let’s see…a bit of Lawrence, Tom Jones, new spoken word and more original poetry. Grab your coffee, pop in the earbuds and enjoy!

 

Watch me, Hear I Go, by A is 4 Advocate

 

In Trouble and Shame, by D.H. Lawrence

Read by Xe Sands

 

Xe writes…

This week nothing PD appealed. Modern poetry seems to have claimed me for the time being and as I don’t have the permission to voice and release those, I thought it might be a good week to pluck one from the past and let it fly free again. And as I scrolled back through, thinking I knew what I was looking for, I came across this one, this perfectly exquisite piece from D.H. Lawrence that said, “Me.”

Broken record time, but it’s been quite the cycle for looking shame in the face and asking, “Where did you COME from?” A friend recently sent me this quote from Anais Nin: “Shame is a lie someone told you about yourself.” And that was the most profound statement I could imagine when I read it: shame…is a lie…someone told…me…about myself.

And in that moment, I thought, ‘I am done with shame. I am done.’

Would that it were that easy, but it’s a start. I think if there was one gift I could universally grant, it would be the lifting of the shame placed upon us by others, the shame used to control and oppress and subvert.

And this is one of those bits from Lawrence when we’re catching him unaware, as if he’s just talking to himself, wishing, hoping for things to be different. He’s not trying to seduce someone or belittle or tear down. He’s just tired and wants to lay the burden down.

 

 

 

Poetry Ode to the Untalented, by Phillip Laurence Carter

Mark writes…

Book 11 Chapter 3 of Tom Jones.

This is part of an ongoing project in which I will record and post one chapter per week of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones over the course of four years.

In this chapter, Mrs. Fitzpatrick manages to convince Sophia to stay awhile at the inn, rather than heading straight on to London. Sophia agrees, with the secret hope that Tom Jones will catch up with them.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

