March 2, 2012

Well, with dead girlfriends on the docket, good there there’s a bit of Brooklyn and a Book of Opinions to lighten things up…

Mental Attitude, by Elbert Hubbard
Read by Seymour Jacklin

Seymour writes…

This is excerpted from Hubbard’s “Love, Life & Work: being a Book of Opinions Reasonably Good-Natured Concerning How to Attain the Highest Happiness for One’s Self with the Least Possible Harm to Others”. Hubbard was an anarchist who was influential in the Arts and Crafts movement of the early 20th Century.

Best of Craigslist…but a sad one
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

For those who’ve found my, ahem, less professional pieces from Craigslist (gift to my husband), this ain’t one of those. This one isn’t funny, but I do understand why it was included in their “Best of Craigslist” section – because it’s real, and it’s sad, and it’s beautiful. And in the sea of truly vile bits and pieces you’ll find in the Best of CL section, something like this is truly rare.

Of course, I read the title while surfing for pieces for my other project and thought it would be funny or gross or snarky. It’s not. It’s just a guy talking/writing about what it’s been like over the past year without his sweetheart. And the hair tie part breaks my heart ever time I read it.

So take a minute or two to listen, and then go hug someone you love, someone whom it would physically hurt to live without. That’s what I plan to do when my family gets home tonight.

Mother Goose with Old Mother Hubbard – Jersey Style
Read by Diane Havens

Diane writes…

Older folks know Mother Goose in large part.
Today’s children probably do not.
Then came Dr. Seuss
Which eclipsed the Good Goose.
And that was only the start!

As part of my storytelling appearances for children, I often use selections from folklore, myth and legend. As part of my rehearsal process and as a lesson in the oral tradition, I adlib and improv the text as well as doing some recitations of the published text. Here’s a little silliness to celebrate Read Across America, Theodore Geisel’s birthday (Dr. Seuss).
Here included: Leap Year Poem, If All the Seas Were One Sea, Old Mother Hubbard (Jersey style, NEW Jersey not the lovely British isle.)

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.