March 23, 2012

Oh we’re being seduced by Neruda again, I see…and then having a bit of regret and self-loathing

Drowning, by NYGirl Loves CA & 6’minutestory
Read by Oddiophile

Oddiophile writes…

Although “narrator” isn’t a profession I aspire to, the Going Public project has always seemed to me to be about finding those pieces of art in the public domain that speak to you and giving them renewed voice. This particular bit of flash fiction by NYgirlLovesCA grabbed me and didn’t want to let go so I decided to lend it my voice. Thanks to Xe Sands for both the Going Public meme and for bringing 6’minutestory to my attention.

 

Sonnet XVII, by Pablo Neruda
Read by Xe Sands

Xe writes…

Oh how HOW can I possibly resist you, Pablo Neruda? I simply can’t. I had every intention of recording Edna St. Vincent Millay’s “What Lips My Lips Have Kissed” for this week’s offering…and then, well, to be frank, I just wasn’t depressed enough to pull it off.

No, I was feeling the exuberance of early spring, the coming sensuality of summer…and that led me directly to Neruda. How lush his poetry, how viscerally felt. If poetry was pastry, I would be making obscene sounds of delight…om NOM.

Ahem. Where was I? Ah yes, this week’s offering…

So we’re back to Neruda. In English only this time around, I’m afraid.

Hope you enjoy it…and hope you consider looking up Neruda’s work if we haven’t managed to inspire you already.

Happy Spring!

 


Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.